My Books

which-wayWhen people find out I’m a novelist, they always ask me the same thing: “Sure, but what do you do for money?” I reply by telling them that thanks to advances in ebook technology, writing books can actually be quite lucrative. But when I’m done lying to them, they often ask me another question: “Which one of your books should I read first?” As I’ve written quite a few different sorts of books, the answer to that question depends on what you’re looking for.

Most of my books are available in paperback, Kindle, and on Audible.

If you’re looking for a fast-paced sci-fi comedy/adventure, I’d recommend Starship Grifters.

“My favorite read this year. A hilarious space adventure. Hard book to put down.” —Hugh Howey, author of Wool

Starship Grifters coverA space-faring ne’er-do-well with more bravado than brains, Rex Nihilo plies the known universe in a tireless quest for his own personal gain. But when he fleeces a wealthy weapons dealer in a high-stakes poker game, he ends up winning a worthless planet…and owing an outstanding debt more vast than space itself!

Starship Grifters is perfect for fans of Douglas Adams’ Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and Harry Harrison’s Stainless Steel Rat series.

 

If you want a little bit more substance with your humor, try the Mercury Series.

“Clever, inventive and original” – Booklist

Mercury Falls was my first novel and remains my best-selling book to date. The Mercury series follows the adventures of the irrepressible anti-establishment angel Mercury as he battles the bureaucracies of heaven and hell to save the world.

The series consists of:cover

You can get your feet wet with the Mercury series by signing up for my email list to get a free copy of my short story, “Mercury Begins.”

The Mercury books will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams’ Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and Kevin Smith’s Dogma.

If you want a book that’s a balance of sci-fi, mystery and humor, check out The Big Sheep.

TBS_small“As original a plot as I’ve run across in a long time. The Big Sheep is a sheer delight!” – Hugh Howey, NYT Bestselling author of Wool

Think Sherlock meets Blade Runner.

Los Angeles of 2039 is a baffling and bifurcated place. After the Collapse of 2028, a vast section of LA, the Disincorporated Zone, was disowned by the civil authorities, and became essentially a third world country within the borders of the city. Navigating the boundaries between DZ and LA proper is a tricky task, and there’s no one better suited than eccentric private investigator Erasmus Keane. When a valuable genetically altered sheep mysteriously goes missing from Esper Corporation’s labs, Keane is the one they call.

The Big Sheep is perfect for fans of Philip Dick and Jim Butcher.

Places to Buy The Big Sheep

UPDATE: The sequel to The Big Sheep, The Last Iota, is now available for pre-order! The official release date is May 9, 2017.

thelastiota

Framed for murder, Keane and Fowler must outwit warlords, outmaneuver a reclusive billionaire, and stay a step ahead of the police while they gradually uncover the truth about the virtual currency known as iotas. Soon the clues begin to point to a conspiracy at the highest levels of government—and to a mysterious trickster who has orchestrated it all. As the DZ devolves into chaos and another Collapse seems to loom, Blake Fowler realizes that the brilliant Erasmus Keane may have finally met his match.

Places to Buy The Last Iota

 If you want something that will make you think, try my quantum physics noir thriller, Schrodinger’s Gat.

“A wild mashup of physics, philosophy and catastrophe served up Kroese style!” – Greg Smith, author of Legacy of the Dragoncover

Part novel, part philosophical rumination on quantum physics and free will, Schrodinger’s Gat is not for the faint of heart.

Paul Bayes has begun to feel like all of his actions are dictated by forces beyond his control. But when his suicide attempt is foiled by a mysterious young woman named Tali, Paul begins to wonder if the future is really as bleak as it seems. Tali possesses a strange power: the ability to predict tragedies and prevent them from happening. The possibility of breaking free from the grip of fate gives Paul hope. But when Tali disappears, Paul begins to realize that altering the future isn’t as easy as it seems: you can fight the future, but the future fights back.

If you want a slightly less cerebral, but still thought-provoking and mind-bending scifi/mystery, try City of Sand.

City of Sand CoverIt’s the year 2000 and the Silicon Valley city of Sunnyview is abuzz with the possibilities of vast fortunes to be made in the Dot Com boom. But to retired cop Benjamin Stone, who has come to Sunnyview to find his estranged daughter, Jessica, the promise of Sunnyview rings hollow. Benjamin grew up in Sunnyview in the 1950s, when it was a sleepy farming town, and he finds its modern day counterpart strange and weirdly insubstantial. After Jessica turns up dead in a creek bed, apparently murdered, Benjamin follows clues that suggest a conspiracy involving a startup company and a Silicon Valley pioneer with a disturbing past. As the mystery unravels, Benjamin must confront the reality of terrible crimes that occurred in the idealized town of his youth, which helped to make Silicon Valley what it is today. But as Benjamin attempts to unravel the conspiracy, all the clues begin to point toward a horrifying possibility: Sunnyview isn’t what it seems.

City of Sand will appeal to fans of the fiction of Philip Dick and the films of Christopher Nolan.

Looking for a lighthearted fantasy? Check out the Dis series.

Distopia_Cover_Small

“Disenchanted kept me laughing and laughing.” – BoingBoing.net

The DIS series is my humorous take on some of the standard tropes of high fantasy. These loosely connected novels, set in the mythical land of Dis, can be read in any order. The series consists of:

Distopia

Disenchanted

Disillusioned

The Dis series will be enjoyed by fans of The Princess Bride and Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels.

Want a straight-up historical adventure (with Vikings)? Read The Outcast.

TheOutcastCoverA beleaguered, broken warrior gets all he ever wanted – a second chance at his lifelong enemy!

A loyal member of the Shield Brethren, Hafgrim once lost his right arm and all sense of hope to rampaging Viking invaders. Now, many years later, after being jailed and broken, still tortured and haunted by a sense of inadequacy, he is asked to defend his people against another overpowering Danish invasion. Old habits, like old soldiers, die hard. A warrior all his life, Hafgrim has been praying for this day of reckoning for eighteen years. He knows only too well what must be done. And what must be done immediately. Rallying his frightened townspeople, Hafgrim remembers the hell that was his last encounter with the relentless Viking hordes. And then the old, still defiant soldier reaches for his sword with his left hand …

Brilliantly achieved and powerfully told, The Outcast is a memorable story inspired by the epic historical fantasy, The Foreworld Saga.

If you just want some laughs without all those annoying characters and pesky plots, check out my collection of humorous essays, The Force is Middling in This One.

force_coverWhat happens to a kid who isn’t quite good enough with the force to be a Jedi? What is it like to live in the worst city in the United States? If we aren’t allowed to test shampoo on monkeys, how will we ever know if our monkeys are clean?

The answers to these and other questions can be found in The Force is Middling in this One, a raucous romp through the mind of author, software developer and gopher exterminator Robert Kroese.

The Force is Middling in This One will appeal to fans of Dave Barry, John Hodgman, and–of course–Star Wars.